PMT Education
New to the platform
Tom O. Private Tutor

Tom O.

Imperial College London - MSc Green Chemistry: Energy and the Environment

£55/ hour


About Tom

Hi there!

My name is Tom and I’m a dedicated Science Tutor with 6 years tutoring experience. I graduated from the University of Bath in 2019 where I read Natural Sciences, majoring in chemistry with a minor in biochemistry. Following this I undertook a Masters in Green Chemistry at Imperial College London for which I was awarded a distinction. 

I’ve tutored across a range of ages from KS3 and 11+ up to undergraduate, maintaining the belief that student engagement is key to successful online tutoring. To achieve this all lessons are prepared thoroughly beforehand, tailored to each student's individual requirements and utilise a variety of learning resources maximising student involvement. I strive to maintain a comfortable yet focused environment in all my lessons; attaining this through getting to know the student on a personal level and preparing the lesson accordingly. 

I believe an open line of communication between myself and the parent is pertinent to a successful learning experience for the tutee. I provide regular feedback on the student’s progress and am available to discuss any queries or matters arising.

I’m a keen sportsman, playing rugby for most of my life. I also take any opportunity to surf and was an active member of my University’s surf club, organising several trips . Outside of sport I love film, theatre and amateur dramatics.

Tutoring Style

I always aspire to maintain a welcoming but focused environemnt in which tutees feel comfortable to ask questions, push themselves and make mistakes. In my 6 years of experience this has proven to be key in achieving a productive tutor/tutee relationship: the tutee must feel relaxed and heard. For online tution, getting a tutee talking and working is key - online whiteboards are perfect for this. Encouraging the reading of questions, writing answers and drawing diagrams is vital to maintain engagement, along with a variety of question styles and resource material to prevent a loss in focus. In addition to this, when possible, I keep an open line of communication between myself and the parent or guardian at all times.

Tutor for 6+ years
1 repeat students
4 hours taught





Tom O. has no reviews yet.